2 Independent Candidates Withdraw Names from Nominations

Story Highlights
  • Amardas Manhare and Sunil Pandey withdrew nominations for the upcoming polls.
  • Only 10 individual candidates allotted election symbol.
  • Khairagrah assembly is scheduled to undergo polls on April 12th.

Khairagarh, CG: On the last day of the withdrawal of nominations for the Khairagarh constituency, nearly 2 individual candidates withdrew their nominations out of the 10. In the independent category, only 10 candidates have been allotted election symbols in the triangular poll contest.

The withdrawal was confirmed by the District Election Officer Taran Prakash Sinha on Monday, the last day when nominations could be called off. Those who withdrew their nominations included Amardas Manhare and Sunil Pandey.

 Chrundas Sahu. Forward Democratic Labour Party; Santoshi Pradhan, Gondwana Gantantra Party, Dhalchand Sahu, Ambedkar Party of India; Yashoda Verma, Indian National Congress; Narendra Soni Janata Congress Chhattisgarh; Nitin Bhandarekar Shiv Sena, and Komal Janghel of the Bharatiya Janata Party are in the fray.

A triangular contest between BJP, JCC (J) and ruling party Congress is expected as the Khairagarh constituency as it undergoes an electoral battle on April 12th. The Congress has fielded the OBC woman Yoshoda Verma, the party’s Khairagarh block committee chief. The BJP candidate Komal Jangle, the national working committee member of the party’s OBC Morcha had earlier won the seat twice but lost the 2018 Assembly election by a margin of 870 votes.

The Khairgarh seat fell empty in November last year after the demise of sitting JCC (J) MLA Devvrat Singh, scion of the erstwhile royal family of Khairagarh.

Related Articles

Back to top button