53 Villages To Be Included In Narayanpur District, Centre Urged

Story Highlights
  • 53 villages of the Antagarh region to be included in Narayanpur district.
  • CM baghel writes to union government for the inclusion of the villages
  • There is a significant commute problem for villagers to travel for government work.

Raipur: The Chhattisgarh government on Tuesday proposed to the Centre to include 53 villages of Antagarh tehsil in Kanker district into Narayanpur in view of the sentiments of the people of Rawghat area of Antagarh block and the convenience of administrative work. This was stated by Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel after some 3,000 tribal villagers reached Raipur marching around 150 km in support of the demand. Mr. Anup Nag MLA Antagarh had earlier met Chief Minister Mr. Bhupesh Baghel regarding their demand.

The villagers have been raising the issue since 2007. They walked from their villages and reached Raipur on Tuesday seeking the Chhattisgarh government’s intervention. The district headquarters of these villages is Kanker which is at a longer distance than Narayanpur. The villagers face problems reaching Kanker town. However, Narayanpur is only 20 km away. Though the villagers avail health and education facilities in Narayanpur district, problems arise when they have to travel to Kanker for government work.

The Chief Minister had also informed the delegation that the formation of a new block and its limits are decided by the Central Government. Therefore, the decision to include the villages of the Rawghat zone of Antagarh block in Narayanpur district will be taken by the Central Government. Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel has agreed to the above demand of the villagers from the very beginning and in this regard he has directed the officers to coordinate and take necessary action along with sending the proposal to the Central Government.

Related Articles

Back to top button