8 Of 11 Goa Congress MLAs Join BJP: “Congress Chhoro, BJP Ko Jodo”

Story Highlights
  • 8 out of 11 Congress MLAs from Goa ditch party.
  • The shift was led be Michael Lobo and Digambar Kamat.
  • Congress spokesperson calls the shift-Operation Kichad

Panaji: Former Congress MLA Michael Lobo on Tuesday confirmed that eight of its 11 MLAs led by top leaders Digambar Kamat and himself joined BJP. The mass defection is hugely embarrassing for the Congress in the middle of Rahul Gandhi’s Bharat Jodo Yatra (Unite India March), at which the BJP has been taking jibes: “Jodo (Unite) your party first.”

“It is Congress chhoro (quit Congress), BJP ko jodo,” quipped Michael Lobo as the MLAs announced their switch in what’s being called yet another ‘Operation Lotus’, named after the BJP’s poll symbol.

“It’s ‘Operation Kichad (Mud)’,” reacted Congress spokesperson Pawan Khera. “The BJP used all kinds of tactics central probe agencies, threats by goons, lure of money to do this, because it is rattled by the Bharat Jodo Yatra.” Congress ally Goa Forward Party reacted with scorn too, saying the defecting MLAs are “symbols of pure evil”.

The MLAs who joined the saffron party include Digambar Kamat, Michael Lobo, Delilah Lobo, Rajesh Phaldesai, Kedar Naik, Sankalp Amonkar, Aleixo Sequeira and Rudolf Fernandes. They also met with CM Pramod Sawant, as reported by news reporters.

Related Articles

Back to top button