Ajay Devgn and Suriya Receive Awards for the Best Actor; Asha Parekh Handed over the Dadasaheb Phalke Award 

Story Highlights
  • The 68th National Film Awards were held in Delhi today.
  • Tanhaji: The Unsung Warrior and Soorarai Pottru win Best Film Awards
  • Veteran Beauty Asha Parekh conferred with the Dadasaheb Phalke Award. 

New Delhi: At the 68th National Film Awards in Delhi on Friday, Ajay Devgn and Suriya shared the award for the best actor. Suriya was recognised for his work in Soorarai Pottru while Ajay Devgn for his home production- Tanhaji for which he was also given the best producer award. This is the third time that Ajay is winning the National award after he won for films like ‘Zakhm’ and ‘The Legend Of Bhagat Singh’. 

Devgn’s Tanhaji bagged several awards including the Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment which was received by Director om Raut accepted the award. 

Meanwhile, Vishal Bhardwaj has receieved the National Award from the President for the ‘Best Music Composition’ category for his song ‘Marenge Toh Wahin Jaakar’ in his documentary film ‘1232Kms’. 

‘Soorarai Pottru’- a South Film was abjudged with the Best Feature Film Award. 

Asha Parekh accepted the Dadasaheb Phalke Award given in recognition of her cinematic excellence. Looking elegant in a yellow saree, the veteran actress accepted the award and thanked everyone for the honour. “I’m grateful that the recognition comes to me just one day before my 80th birthday,” she said. 

Other awards like the best supporting actor and actress werr conferred to Biju Menon for AK Ayyappanum Koshiyum (Malayalam) and Lakshmi Priya Chandramouli for Sivaranjaniyum Innum Sila Pengallum (Tamil). 

The list of winners was alread announced a while back by Union Minister of Information and Broadcasting, Anurag Thakur. 

Related Articles

Back to top button