Australia Win their Maiden T20 World Cup Against NZ

Story Highlights
  • Australia ended their 14 year long wait for the T20 World Cup trophy.
  • Mitchell Marsh’s 70 runs helped the Aussies bold the black cap players
  • Aussies cruised past NZ at the T20 World Cup finale at Dubai International Stadium on Sunday.

It was quite a scene how the Aussies took over New Zealand at the T20World cup finale on Sunday at the Dubai International Stadium.

Interestingly, for the first time in the history of major ICC tournaments, Australia came close to winning a trophy in the shortest format of the game. New Zealand that chose to bat posted a challenging total of 171/4 in their 20 overs. Skipper Williamson scored whooping 85 runs in 48 balls to help his team bounce back after a slow start. Though the Aussies showcased a nervouse start with Aaron Finch for five runs by pacer Trent Boult, David Warner and Mitchell Marsh, took the lead with their expensive strokes laying down a foundation for victory with eight wickets in hand and seven balls remaining. The New Zealand bowlers was buzzled out towards the latter half of the run-chase as Glenn Maxwell ended the match with a flourish.

Australia crafted its winning runs with a trademark reverse shot by Glen Maxwell. Australia scripted a new record for the highest-successful run chase as they brought down the black cap players at 173 with 7 balls to spare, credits to the scintillating 77 not out from 50 balls from Mitchell Marsh and a 38-ball 53 from David Warner. Josh Hazlewood shone with figures of 3/16 even as he dropped Kane Williamson on 21 before the New Zealand captain hit a 48-ball 85 in the first innings.

The Aussies celebrated the end of their 14 year long wait with incredible dance moves in the dressing room. Adam Zampa, Mitchell Marsh, Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Starc and others took to the dance floor to show some unique moves as they basked in the glory of a dominant display in the final against the Kane Williamson-led side. The official handle of T20 on Instagram share glimpses of the winning team celebrating their historic achievement.

Related Articles

Back to top button