Bahrain Suspends Flyers from South-East Asia; Separate Guidelines Issued for Citizens

Story Highlights
  • All flights from India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and Nepal were banned from today
  • Citizens and Visa holders should present negative RT-PCR Test Reports conducted 48 hours before boarding
  • 10 days quarantine directed to the citizens

World: Several countries restricted international flyers form the South-East Asian region. Bahrain also joined the troop declaring suspension of travellers arriving from South-East Asian countries from Monday amid the surge. 

As per sources, flights from India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and Nepal are denied entry from today onwards.  The measure has been taken in line with Government Executive Committee directives and based on the recommendations of the National Medical Task Force for Combating the coronavirus. 

However, Bahraini citizens and residency visa holders are not subjected to suspension but will have to present a negative RT-PCR Certificate conducted between 48 hours prior to the journey. They have also been directed to  undertake another PCR test on arrival and on the tenth day of stay. 

In addition, they have also been directed to  quarantine for ten days at their residence or at a licensed quarantine facility approved by the National Health Regulatory Authority. 

Bahrain reported 214,870 positive COVID-19 cases with 809 deaths so far, as per World Health Organisation on Sunday. As of May 11, a total of 1,434,023 vaccine doses have been administered.

Related Articles

Back to top button