Ban on Regular Commercial Flights Extended Until Further Notice

Story Highlights
  • DGCA extends ban on regular international flights until further notice.
  • The ban is not applicable on international cargo and flights operating under Air-Bubble.
  • India operates flight to 45 countries under Air-Bubble transport.

New Delhi: The Director-General of Civil Aviation (DGCA) on 28th February extended the ban on regular commercial international flights until further notice. The ban was extended until today from January 19th.

The circular issued by the MCA informed that flights under the air bubble and international air cargo would not be affected by the extension.

Currently, India has air transport bubbles with Afghanistan, Australia, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Canada, Ethiopia, Finland, France, Germany, Iraq, Japan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kuwait, Maldives, Mauritius, Nepal, Netherlands, Nigeria, Oman, Qatar, Russia, Rwanda, Saudi Arabia, Seychelles, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Switzerland, Tanzania, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, US and Uzbekistan. As per the increasing demand of carriers in the war-hit nation, the MCA had expanded the India-Ukraine air bubble before the former country shut its airspace.

The ban was first imposed on March 23, 2020, after the outbreak. However, special flights operated between India and 45 countries to evacuate citizens stranded as nations imposed strict lockdowns to curb the spread.  Later in November 2021, the centre had planned to resume the scheduled international flights however, the suspension was further extended as the plan derailed due to the emergence of Omicron.

Related Articles

Back to top button