BJP Leading in Most Seats in Rajasthan Local Body Elections

Story Highlights
  • Out of the 4,371 seats in the Panchayat Samiti, the BJP cornered 1,835
  • Other winners include 420 independents and 56 Rashtriya Loktantrik Party candidates
  • out of 636 seats in the Zila Parishad, the BJP has bagged 266 seats, while the Congress won 204 seats

Jaipur: Out of 4,371 seats in the Rajasthan Panchayat Samiti elections, the BJP has bagged 1,835, while the Congress has won 1,718 seats. Among the other winners, there are 420 independents and 56 Rashtriya Loktantrik Party candidates. In the Zila Parishad voting, the BJP won 266 seats, while the Congress managed to bag 204 seats.

“The counting of votes to elect members of Panchayat Samitis and Zila Parishads is still underway” – said a state election commission spokesperson. Both of the elections were held simultaneously. 

Out of the total 19 seats, the BJP bagged 9, Congress cornered 7 seats, and independents 3. 

“The independent candidates have extended their support to Pilot, to help Congress form board in the Panchayat Samiti,” – said Ramlal Gurjar, the husband of one of the candidates, Hansa Devi Gurjar. 

Vasundhara Raje, the former Chief Minister of Rajasthan has congratulated the BJP candidates on the victory of the party. “Heartiest congratulations to all the hard-working candidates of the BJP who won the Zila Parishad and Panchayat Samiti elections”, she stated, adding, “Heartfelt thanks also to the people of the state, who have reposed faith in the BJP by denying the false claims of the Congress government”.

Related Articles

Back to top button