BJP Loses In Himachal’s Mandi, 3 Other Assembly Seats for Party Ahead of 2022

Story Highlights
  • Congress has completed a stunning clean sweep of bypolls in BJP-ruled Himachal Pradesh.
  • BJP candidate secured less than 2,600 votes.
  • Congress candidate Sanjay was leading with 2,659 votes.

Mandi: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) suffered a huge embarrassment as it lost Himachal Pradesh’s Mandi parliamentary seat to the Congress, besides 3 other seats of Fatehpur, Arki, and Jubbai-Kothkai. Congress candidate Pratibha Singh, who is the wife of the late former six-time Chief Minister Virbhadra Singh, on Tuesday won Mandi parliamentary seat against BJP candidate and Kargil war hero Brigadier (retd) Khushal Chand Thakur. This was for the first time that a member of Virbhadra Singh’s family contested an election after his demise due to post-Covid complications.

In Mandi, the prestige of Chief Minister Jai Ram Thakur and the late Virbhadra Singh’s family was at stake. Mandi being his home district, was a litmus test for Thakur to ensure the victory of BJP candidate Thakur, who tried his luck for the first time. In Jubbal-Kotkhai assembly seat after the second round of counting, Rohit Thakur (2,825) of the Congress was leading with 248 votes over his nearest rival Chetan Singh Bragta (2577), a rebel BJP candidate contesting as an independent candidate.

In Fatehpur, Baldev Thakur of the BJP was leading with a margin of 924 votes over his nearest rival Bhawani Singh Pathania of the Congress. In Arki, Congress candidate Sanjay was leading with 2,659 votes over BJP’s Rattan Singh Pal (4,808).

Related Articles

Back to top button