CG: New District Formation on Hold until Elections

Story Highlights
  • CM Baghel's assembly constituency to become Patan district
  • No new district will be formed till assembly elections
  • Chhattisgarh currently has 5 divisions and 33 districts

Durg, Chhattisgarh: It was speculated for a long time that Chhattisgarh Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel’s assembly constituency will become Patan district, and the state will have another 2 new districts besides it. Now, both these speculations have come to an end with the Chief Minister’s announcement. CM Bhupesh Baghel said that before the assembly elections neither the new districts will be announced nor the Patan district will be formed.

Actually, the CG Chief Minister had gone on Kumhari Sonkar Samaj’s program and Gariaband-Rajim tour two days back. During the tour, while answering the questions of the media, he said, “In the special session, we had declared 5 districts. Now after that, the posts will have to be approved to open the office there. All these require great work. Therefore, the question of creating new districts before the elections does not arise.” 

It has become clear from the reply of the Chief Minister that no new district will be announced till the upcoming assembly elections. Relevantly whichever party forms the government after winning the election, will work on creating a new district.

BJP Durg District President Jitendra Verma said, that the way Patan has developed and the way the geographical conditions are present in the area, it was necessary to make Patan a district. The people of the Patan area were also in the same hope that it would be declared as a district before the elections. “If the Chief Minister has said about not making the district further, then it is wrong with the people of Patan”, Verma said.

Notably, Chhattisgarh currently has 5 divisions and 33 districts. Some of the major districts include Kanker, Korba, Dantewada, Durg, Dhamtari, Bilaspur, Bastar, Mahasamund, Rajnandgaon, Raigad, Raipur, Surguja, Balodabazar, Bijapur, etc. If the 3 new districts are formed then the state is expected to have a total of 36 districts.

Related Articles

Back to top button