CG Voters Thronging Polling Stations Amid The Bitter Cold

Story Highlights
  • Chhattisgarh urban body elections will continue till 5:00 PM.
  • 1000 polling stations have been set up for elections in 370 wards.
  • The result will be declared on December 23rd.

Raipur: The process of voting is going on for the urban body elections in Chhattisgarh. Polling began at 8 am at 95 centres of Birgaon Municipal Corporation. More than 80 thousand voters of Birgaon are deciding the fate of 186 candidates. People were enthusiastic about voting in many areas. They had reached the polling booths before 8 am. So far 7.25 per cent polling has been done in Birgaon. Polling for 40 wards of Birgaon Municipal Corporation is to be held on December 20th, officials said. A total of 186 candidates are in the fray in this election.

Congress, Bharatiya Janata Party and Chhattisgarh Janata Congress have fielded candidates in all 40 wards. 20 candidates from other political parties are also in the fray. At the same time, 46 independent candidates are also contesting the elections. A total of 95 polling stations have been set up in Birgaon. The number of voters here are 80441. In which the number of female voters is 36799 and the number of male voters is 43627. In Birgaon, 15 voters are of third and other genders as well. The election of one ward in Gobra-Nawapara is being held in Ward 14 in Gobra-Nawapara Municipality of Raipur. A total of one thousand 91 voters have to choose their councillor here. The result will be declared on December 23rd.

Counting of votes for Birgaon Municipal Corporation elections will be held in Advani Arlikan Government Higher Secondary School. While the counting of votes for the Gobra Nawapara Municipality by-election is to be held in Government Harihar Higher Secondary School of Nawapara. Magistrate Deputy District Election Officer US Aggarwal, posted in the sector divided by the administration, told that 95 polling teams have been formed for Birgaon and 2 for Gobra Nawapara. The duty of 10 magistrates has been imposed by dividing the polling stations into 5 sectors. All sector in-charges have also been given the power of the magistrate.

Related Articles

Back to top button