Chauhan and Gadkari Out; Sonawal and Yediyurappa Inn: Major BJP Revamp

Story Highlights
  • BJP Parliamentary Board undergoes a major rejig.
  • Shivraj Singh Chauhan and Nitin Gadkari including Yogi Adityanath out.
  • Yediyurappa and Sarbanda Sonawal included in the top decision making partybody.

New Delhi: In a major rejig on Wednesday, MP CM Shivraj Singh Chauhan and Nitin Gadkari lost fields in BJP Parliamentary Board. UP CM Yogi Adityanath’s removal came as a surprise move after much speculation that he would be rewarded with a seat at the decision-making table.

Fadnavis and K Laxman are the two crucial inclusions on the list, hinting at a promotion for the leaders. While BJP OBC Morcha national president Laxman has been trying to gain grounds in Telangana, Fadnavis played a major role in forging an alliance with the Eknath Shinde camp that led to the toppling of the Uddhav Thackeray government. Ex Karnataka CM Yediyurappa and Sarbanda Sonawal were also included in the party’s rejigged board that now has four new faces.

The Parliamentary Board is the governing body of the Bharatiya Janata Party that takes day-to-day decisions on behalf of the national executive. The national executive sets up the highest decision-making body consisting of the party president and ten other members. The board supervises the activities of the parliamentary and legislative groups of the party. It also guides and regulates all the organisational units below the national executive.

Related Articles

Back to top button