Chhattisgarh to Confer Awards in the Name of Habib Tanveer and Anupam Mishra

Raipur: At a seminar organized at Shaheed Memorial Bhawan on the occasion of Gandhi Jayanthi announced two state-level awards in the name of famous water conservationist Anupam Mishra and playwright Habeeb Tanveer. The announcement made by CM Baghel comes as a good opportunity for youth to be recognized for their contribution to water conservation and excel in theatres.

Tanveer- A pioneer in Urdu and Hindi theatre, he was most known for his work with Chhattisgarhi tribals, at the Naya Theatre, a theatre company he founded in 1959 in now Bhopal. He was the last of pioneering actor-managers in Indian theatre, which included Sisir Bhaduri, Utpal Dutt and Prithviraj Kapoor, and often he managed plays with a mammoth cast, such as Charandas Chor, which included an orchestra of 72 people on stage and Agra Bazaar, with 52 people. He was born in Chhattisgarh and breathed his last on 8 June 2009 after ailing from a three-week-long illness.

Anuman Mishra- was an Indian Gandhian, author, journalist, environmentalist, TED speaker, and water conservationist who worked on promoting water conservation, water management and traditional rainwater harvesting techniques. He had been awarded the 1996 Indira Gandhi Paryavaran Puraskar (IGPP) award instituted by the Ministry of Environment and Forests, Government of India. He travelled to villages across several Indian states, especially Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, and Uttar Pradesh, describing the value of time-tested systems of water harvesting. He advocated the conservation of traditional water structures in India as well as abroad

Related Articles

Back to top button