Congress MPs Jasbir Singh, Manish Tewari Give Adjournment Motion Notice in Lok Sabha over Farmers’ Agitation

Congress MPs Jasbir Singh and Manish Tewari on February 3 have given adjournment motion notices in Lok Sabha because of the Farmers’ agitation against the central government’s three new farm laws.

Earlier on Wednesday, the Central Government, along with the opposition parties in Rajya Sabha together reached a decision, that the party members of both ruling and opposition parties together will deal out more time for discussions on the motion of thanks; also, the parties, during the discussion, will raise the issues related to the farmers’ agitation.

Notably, the Lok Sabha witnessed 3 rapid adjournments on Tuesday, which were caused by the protest of the opposition party leaders against the Centre’s new agriculture laws. Member of opposition parties such as AAP, BSP, TMC, DMK were seen sloganeering over the agriculture laws against which Delhi borders have been witnessing an ongoing farmers’ agitation for months. 

Following the sloganeering of the opposition leader, Rajya Sabha Chairman M Venkaiah Naidu on Tuesday imposed Rule 255 against three AAP MPs, to repeal them from the house. Sanjay Singh, an Aam Aadmi Party MP, remarked – “We expressed our dissent in the house, we want repeal of three farm laws because talks won’t help. Three of us have been suspended for a day”.

Related Articles

Back to top button