Congress Promises To Carve Out New District Within 24 Hours After Victory

Story Highlights
  • Polling of for Khairagarh will take place on April 12th.
  • BJP has nominated its former MLA Komal Janghel.
  • Congress has fielded its block president Yashoda Verma for the by-elections.

Raipur: Being dubbed as a semi-final of the next year’s assembly poll in Chhattisgarh, a tough contest is in the offing in the by-election in the Khairagarh assembly constituency where balloting is scheduled for April 12th. In an effort to wrest the seat, the ruling Congress came up with a manifesto for by-poll promising to carve out a new Khairagarh district within 24 hours after winning the election.

The Congress, in its manifesto, has also promised to erect a life-size of late MLA Devwrat Singh at Khairagrah. Now, Congress has fielded its block president Yashoda Verma, an OBC candidate, while BJP has nominated its former MLA Komal Janghel, who also belongs to the same community. JCC (J) has fielded Narendra Soni, a relative of former MLA Devwrat Singh, in an effort to retain the seat for the party.

Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel is leading the Congress campaign with the ruling party leaders asserting that it’s a ‘semi-final’ of the assembly elections due by the end of next year. His cabinet colleagues are also camping in the constituency to oversee the party campaign. The Congress is banking on the welfare initiatives taken for the farmers and others during its three-year rule in the state.

BJP leaders say that it was for the first time that any party is releasing a manifesto for a by-election and making promises to carve out a new district. “Such a promise demonstrates the Congress fear of losing elections”, said union minister Prahalad Patel. Former minister Brijmohan Agrawal says this promise is a ploy as the Congress government could have easily created a new district during the last three years. The counting of votes for c will take place on April 16th. As many as 2,11,540 voters, including 1,05,250 females are eligible to exercise their franchise in 291 polling stations.

Related Articles

Back to top button