Day 1 Highlights; Good Start for India in TT, Swimming, Badminton

Story Highlights
  • India gains final spot in swimming.
  • PV Sindhu and Srikanth outclass Pakistan at 5-0.
  • Indian women face defeat in Cricket.

A mixed bag of contingents showcased their mettle on Day 1 of the CWG 2022.

India clinched their first finals in swimming. Indian swimmer Srihari Nataraj booked a berth for the finals of men’s 100m backstroke after clocking 54:55 seconds in the semi-final event.

The Bengaluru lad will now focus on becoming only the second Indian swimmer to bag a medal in the Commonwealth Games since Prasanta Karmakar’s historic bronze in the para-swimming event at the Delhi CWG in 2010.

Meanwhile, Indian badminton champ PV Sindhu with partner Kidambi Srikanth shunned Pakistan at 5-0.

On the other hand, the Indian women’s cricket suffered a disapppintment as they came up short against Australia at Edgbaston. The Women’s team in hockey however managed to square a fair win against Ghana.

In boxing, Shiva Thapa quite easily won his men’s Round of 32 bout against Pakistan’s Suleman Baloch. In aquatics, Kushagra Rawat was eliminated in the Men’s 400m Freestyle event after he finished last in Heat 3. The 14-year-old squash player Anahat Singh, made a winning start in the women’s singles competition The Indian women’s table tennis team also registered a 3-0 victory vs South Africa.

Here’s a brief schedule of the Indian contigent for Day 2 of CWG 2022

Lawn Bowls (1PM IST)- India in Men’s Triple; Tania Choudhury in Women’s singles

Athletics (1:30PM IST) – Nitendra Singh Rawat in Men’s Marathon Final

Badminton (1:30PM IST)- India’s Mixed Team Group A tie against Sri Lanka

Weightlifting (1:30PM IST) : Weightlifting – Sanket Mahadev Sargar in Men’s 55kh category; Gururaja in men’s 61kg category

Table Tennis (2:00PM): Table Tennis – India vs Guyana in women’s team group 2; Men’s team vs Northern Ireland

Cycling (2:30PM): Cycling – Mayuri Lute and Triyashi Paul in Women’s Sprint Qualifying. Meenakshi in Women’s 3000m Individual Pursuit Qualifying, Cycling – Vishwajeet Singh and Dinesh Kumar in Men’s 4000m Individual Pursuit Qualifying

Related Articles

Back to top button