Dhami Heads Towards Victory; To Remain Uttarakhand CM

Story Highlights
  • Pushkar Singh Dhami has won the Champawat bypoll by over 54,000 votes.
  • Dhami had to win to remain as chief minister.
  • The bypoll was needed because of the death of Congress leader MLA PT Thomas.

Champawat: The counting of votes is underway in Uttarakhand’s Champawat which is likely to seal the fate of Chief Minister Pushkar Singh Dhami. The counting of votes has begun at 8 am on Friday. Meanwhile, BJP unit started celebrating as Uttarakhand CM Pushkar Singh Dhami secured a leads from Champawat assembly seat with 54,121 votes.

By the end of the ninth round of counting of votes for Champawat, Uttarakhand CM Pushkar Singh Dhami is leading with 35,839 votes. As of Round 7 of counting, Pushkar Singh Dhami has secured 25,219 votes while Nirmala Gahatodi has 1,276 votes. In the third round of counting, Dhami was leading by 10,617 votes while the Congress candidate has 425 votes.

Chief Minister Pushkar Singh Dhami, who lost from Khatima in the state assembly polls held in February, had to win to Champawat seat to remain as chief minister. He had been sworn in to the state’s top post in March after the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party retained power in February-March election but he lost his individual race from Khatima to the Congress.

Related Articles

Back to top button