EC Order’s Shiv Sena Factions To Choose Different Symbols

Mumbai: The Election Commission today issued an interim order, both Shiv Sena factions led by Uddhav Thackeray and Eknath Shinde will now have to choose different symbols, which they have to choose from the list of free symbols available.

Both factions will now have to choose different name and symbol in the upcoming bye-election in Mumbai’s Andheri East. The decision from poll body comes four months after Eknath Shinde took away the Shiv Sena numbers in the Maharashtra assembly to replace Uddhav Thackeray as chief minister.

Earlier, the Commission had asked the rival groups to submit documentary proof on legislative and organisational support by August 8 to back their claim. However, later the deadline was extended to October 7 after the request of Thackeray faction. Meanwhile on October 4, Shinde faction had moved to the Election Commission seeking the allocation of the bow and arrow symbol in view of Andheri East assembly by-election that was notified on Friday.

Related Articles

Back to top button