Election Commission Announces By-Polls in 6 States on October 4

Story Highlights
  • Rajya Sabha elections to be held in MP, Assam, West Bengal, Maharashtra, Puducherry and Tamil Nadu.
  • Over seven seats to witness by polls on October 4.
  • Results to be declared by the evening on the same day.

New Delhi:  The Election Commission on Thursday announced the by-polls to seven  Rajya Sabha seats,  which include one each from West Bengal, Assam, Maharashtra, Puducherry and  Madhya Pradesh and two from Tamil Nadu.  As per the statement released by the Election Commission of India, the polls are scheduled for October 4.

The Bengal seat fell vacant after Manas Ranjan Bhunia decided to contest the assembly elections as was the cause with the seat from Assam where Biswajit Daimary resigned from the upper house of the Parliament and his party the Bodoland people’s Front and joined BJP. The two seats in Tamil Nadu fell vacant due to the resignation of AIADMK leaders KP Munusamy and R Vaithillingam who are currently members of the state legislative assembly.

The fifth seat fell vacant after the demise of Rajeev Shankarro Satav who was a member of the Rajya Sabha from Maharashtra. The biennial elections for one Rajya Sabha seat in Puducherry have also been scheduled for October 4.  The elections in the state were necessitated as the term of N Gokul Krishnan,  who represents Puducherry in the Council of State will end on October 6th.

Results of all the above state Rajya Sabha elections would be announced on the same day by the evening as per the notice.

Related Articles

Back to top button