Election Commission Announces Bypoll for Bhabanipur Assembly

Story Highlights
  • By-poll in West Bengal's Bhabanipur on September 30.
  • Crucial polls for Mamata Banerjee to remain Chief Minister.
  • Results to be announced on 3rd October.

West Bengal: The Election Commission of India has announced to hold a by-election on September 30 for the Bhabanipur Assembly Constitutional Constituency in West. Voting will take place on the day of the three-sale period in West Bengal at Long-Term Le Fool and People Lee (Audioshire). Simultaneously by-polls will also be held in West Bengal’s Samserganj and Jangirpur and Pipli (Odisha).

According to a statement from the Election Commission, as Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee intends to compete in the constituency, it has been decided to hold by-elections in Bhabanipur in view of the constitutional urgency and special requests in West Bengal. “Considering the constitutional exigency and special request from State of West Bengal.” Trinamool Parliament’s senior leader SobhandebChattopadhyay applied for resignation from Calcutta’s Bhabanipur Assembly Constituency in May, paving the way for the prime minister to compete in the Constituency.

Ms Banerjee represented Bhabanipur in 2011 and 2016. However, in the 2021 Assembly polls, she chose to compete from Nandigram and narrowly lost 1,956 votes to the former TMC leader, who joined the BJP, Suvendu Adhikari.

The Election Commission also released polls for Samserganj and Jangipur in West Bengal and Pipli in Odisha, where deferred votes have been postponed due to COVID19.

Related Articles

Back to top button