Former Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan Conferred with Padma Bhushan

Story Highlights
  • Sumitra Mahajan MP from Indore received Padma Bhushan award today
  • Has been eight-time woman MP from Indore.
  • Mahajan met LK Advani on Monday

Indore: Sumitra Mahajan, India’s first eight-time woman MP from Indore, former Lok Sahab speaker was presented the Padma Bhushan for her contribution in public affairs today at the Rashtrapati Bhavan By president Ramnath Kovind.

Interacting with the media after receiving the award, she said, “I am grateful to everyone for this honour. It feels like I have received recognition for my work of so many years.”

A day ahead of the event, Mahajan, who is popularly known as Tai, reached New Delhi and convened with former deputy prime minister and senior BJP leader L K Advani.Apart from Ms Mahajan, Nripendra Misra, veteran Indian Administrative Service officer, was also amongst the few who was conferred with the Padma Bhushan.

Veteran sculptor Sudarsan Sahoo,Veteran doctor and educationist from Karnataka Belle Monappa Hegde and legendary archaeologist B B Lal were also given the Padma Vibhushan awards in their fields of excellencetl today.Vice President M Venkaiah Naidu, Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Union Home Minister Amit Shah were among the dignitaries present during the civil investiture ceremony.

Through the Padma awards, the government seeks to recognise “excellence ” in various fields such as art, literature and education, sports, medicine, social work, science and engineering, public affairs, civil service, trade and industry.The Padma awards are given in three categories — Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri — and announced annually on the eve of Republic Day. The Padma Vibhushan is awarded for exceptional and distinguished service, while the Padma Bhushan is conferred for distinguished service of high order and Padma Shri for explicit service in any field. The centre has been honouring many unsung heroes, who are contributing to society in different ways, with Padma awards since 2014.

Related Articles

Back to top button