Four out of four- Baghel Govt Captures Khairagarh

Story Highlights
  • Congress sets foot in Khairagarh constituency.
  • Lead the by poll by a margin of 20,173 votes.
  • District formation promise to be fulfilled in 24 hours.

Khairagarh: The ruling party in CG celebrated its victory in the Khairagarh constituency on Wednesday. With this victory, the Congress continues its winning streak in the state. The party has now won all the four Assembly by-elections held since it came to power in 2018.

Bhupesh Baghel had fielded Yashoda Verma, who maintained the lead right from the beginning of counting, defeated her nearest rival, BJP’s Komal Janghel, by a margin of 20173 votes.

As said in the partys poll manifesto, a new district ‘Khairagarh-Gandai-Chhuikhadan’ will be carved out within 24 hours of the poll results, Urban Administration Minister Shiv Dahria. Soon after the victory, CM thanked the people of Khairagarh for faith in his policies. Notably , Bhupesh Baghel is the first Chief Minister to win all the four by-elections in three and a half years.

The Khairagarh seat in naxal affected Rajnandgaon district had fallen vacant following the demise of the sitting Janta Congress Chhattisgarh (J) MLA Devvrat Singh, scion of the erstwhile royal family of Khairagarh, in November last year. The regional political outfit JCC (J) was floated by late ex-CM Ajit Jogi in 2016. The Congress party had come third in the 2018 Assembly elections after JCC(J) and BJP.

Related Articles

Back to top button