Four Reward Holding Naxals Surrender in Bijapur and Dantewada

Story Highlights
  • Four Naxals surrender; a couple in Bijapur and two other Maoists in Dantewada
  • The couple carried a reward of Rs 8 lakh each
  • Another two reward carrying Naxals surrendered in Dantewada

Raipur: Four Naxal insurgents surrendered on Monday in Bijapur and Dantewada district before CRPF DIG Komal Singh and SP Kamlochan Kashyap on Monday.

Out of them a couple, identified as Naxal “commander” Raju Karam (24) and his wife Sunita (21), an area committee member of the outlawed outfit. They laid down arms in the Bijapur district, an official said. The couple carried a reward prize of Rs 8 lakh each.

The two had been reportedly active in the Kalahandi-Kandhamal-Booudh-Nayagarh division of Odisha and Telangana state committees of the CPI. 

Sources reveal, Raju has been part of the movement since 2013 and was tasked with guarding central committee member Narsimha Reddy alias Jampanna in Odisha.

Later he was authorized as the commander of the protection group in the central regional bureau. 

The Naxals in Dantewada have surrendered as a part of the Lon Varrattu program which was launched to compel the Maoists to surrender and join the mainstream. The surrendered Naxals were identified as Badegudra jan-militia commander Lakhendra Kunjam (28), with a reward of Rs 1 lakh on his head, and militia member Bhima Markam (27). So far several Naxals have surrendered under the Lon Varattu campaign.

Related Articles

Back to top button