Guj Re-elects Bhupender Patel; Sukhvinder Sukhu Elected as Himachal Pradesh CM

Story Highlights
  • Sukhwinder Singh Sukhu to be the new CM of Himachal Pradesh
  • Bhupendra Patel re-elected as Guj CM .
  • Congress 40 seats in the 68-member Himachal Assembly.

NEW DELHI: The Congress High Command has named Sukhwinder Singh as the CM for Himachal Pradesh. Sukhu 58 is an MLA from Nandaun in the Hamirpur district in Himachal Pradesh. He has also served as the former party president and is also a four-time MLA. Pratibha Singh, Sukhwinder Singh Sukhu, and Mukesh Agnihotri were the contenders for the top post.

The Congress, which wrested power from the BJP in the hilly state, convened a meeting of all its newly-elected MLAs in Shimla today where a resolution is likely to be passed authorizing the party president to pick the legislative party leader.

The Congress won 40 seats in the 68-member Himachal Assembly which maintained its tradition of not voting any incumbent government to power since 1985. The BJP won 25, and the other 3. The Aam Aadmi Party failed to open its account. 

Meanwhile, in Gujarat Bhupendra Patel has been re-named as the CM once again. He resigned from his post on Thursday after the victory. He will be sworn in as the CM on Monday.

Related Articles

Back to top button