Gujarat Assembly Elections; Candidate list, Denial to Contest, and much more

Gujarat: The assembly elections in Gujarat will be held in two phases. The first phase will be on Dec 1 and the second phase will be on Dec 5. After the dates were declared a few days back, the ruling party BJP has released its first list of candidates in view of the Gujarat Assembly elections. Under this, the names of candidates have been fixed for 160 seats. Union Minister Bhupendra Yadav announced this on Thursday. He told that Chief Minister Bhupendra Patel will contest from Ghatlodhia seat. At the same time, Rivaba, wife of cricketer Ravindra Jadeja, has also been given a ticket.

Apart from these, tickets have been given to Aniruddha Bhai from Mandvi, Trikam Bhai from Anjar, Malti Ben from Gandhidham, Kantilal from Morbi who jumped into the river in the bridge collapse incident, and Vegji Bhai from Kalwar. Cricketer Ravindra Jadeja’s wife Rivaba has been selected from Jamnagar North. At the same time, Raghav Ji from Jam Nagar Rural, Shivabhai from Mahua, and Jayesh Bhai from Jaitpur will also contest the election. 

In contrast to the news, it has come to the fore that many Gujarat BJP leaders have announced not to contest the elections. These include Nitin Patel, Bhupendra Singh Chudasama, who was the Education and Revenue Minister in the Vijay Rupani government’s cabinet, Minister of State for Home Pradeepsinh Jadeja, and Energy Minister Saurabh Patel. At the same time, MLA from Bhavnagar and minister in Rupani government Vibhavari Ben Dave, ministers Kaushik Patel, Vallabh Kakadia, and Yogesh Patel have also announced not to contest the elections.

The result of the 182-member Gujarat assembly election will be declared on December 8, just 3 days after the conclusion of the 2nd phase of voting. 

Related Articles

Back to top button