- Rohit could not play the first test too
- He sustained a thumb injury while playing ODI against Ban
- Rohit to not travel to Dhaka as he is ruled out of the 2nd test
Bangladesh: Indian Skipper Rohit Sharma suffered a thumb injury while fielding in a match during the second ODI against Bangladesh. After the injury, he could not play in the first test against Bangladesh. Now, there are reports that the captain will not play in the second Test as well. His thumb is not fully healed yet. For this reason, the team management does not want to take any risks. He is still in India and has not left for Bangladesh.
A total of 2 Tests are to be held between India and Bangladesh. The Indian team is ahead with a score of 1-0 now. The remaining test match is very important for the Indian team to remain in the race for the final of the World Test Championship. According to reports, the medical team has decided not to take any risk after examining Rohit Sharma. However, he is likely to play in the 3-match ODI and T20 series against Sri Lanka next month. The series is starting from 3rd January.
Rohit Sharma had returned to Mumbai after getting injured. He is being treated there. On the other hand, Shubman Gill had cemented his place by scoring a century in the first Test and balanced the team spirit in absence of the skipper. Reportedly, Team India reached Mirpur on Monday for the second Test. The team will practice for the next 2 days. The 2nd test match is to start from December 22 in Mirpur.