IND v/s NZ ODI: NZ Lead Series with 7-Wicket Win

An attacking century from Tom Latham drove New Zealand to a comfortable seven-wicket win over India in Auckland. Unbeaten at 145 and 94 Latham and captain Kane Williamson chased down a target of 307 with ease making 309/3 in 47.1 Overs to take a lead in the series.

With Punjab Kings pacer Arshdeep Singh and Umran Malik debuting the men in blue who lost the toss bat first. Umran bagged his maiden wicket when Devon Conway went for quick delivery making it an easy catch for Rishabh Pant. Daryl Mitchell was Umran’s second victim.

The hosts had the laugh in the end though reaching the target with 17 balls thankful to Latham and Williamson as they added 221 runs for an unbeaten four-wicket partnership. The kiwis were in total control of the game by the time Shardul Thakur had completed a forgettable 40th over.

Shreyas Iyer coming off a first-ball duck found form with a neat half century before Washignton Sundar blazed away to a 16-ball 37 to guide India to the score. Besides Iyer, Opener Shikar Dhawan and Shubam Gill too struck fluent fifties after the tourists were sent in to bat.

Related Articles

Back to top button