IPL 2023: Ravindra Jadeja Pulls Off a Heist to Hand Chennai Super Kings Fifth Title

AHMEDABAD: Chennai Super Kings outclassed defending champions Gujarat Titans in the rain-affected final of Indian Premier League 2023 to become the five-time IPL champions on Tuesday at Narendra Modi Stadium. Indian Premier League tweeted on its official Twitter account the end of the 2023 IPL season, “We arenot crying, you are The legend continues to grow”.

5 wicket victory helped CSK equal their records to the seasoned winners of the cash rich league series- Mumbai Indians. Ravindra Jadeja showed great composure in the last two balls with one six and a much needed four sealing the deal for CSK. Jadeja remained unbeaten for 15 off 6 balls, while Shivam Dube also played a valiant 32-run* knock as Gujarat Titans failed to defend their title. Sachin Tendulkar tweeted a picture of the glorious finish with a caption, “What a finish to one of the most enthralling IPL seasons ever!”.

Chasing a revised total of 171 in 15 overs, the yellow team fired in unison, never allowing the required rate to jump up exponentially in a steep chase at the rain marred match that was delayed the match twice. Devon Conway (47) and Shivam Dube (32*) were the top performers for CSK, while MS Dhoni was dismissed for a golden duck.

Gujarat Titans who won the toss posted 214/4 in 20 overs without any interruption. Choosing to bat first, Sai Sudharsan top-scored with 96 while Wriddhiman Saha slammed another half-century set the benchmark for CSK.

In what could turn out to be Mahendra Singh Dhoni’s final outing in the biggest T20 cricket league, CSK batters provided the perfect ‘farewell’ gift to the legend.

Related Articles

Back to top button