ISRO Successfully Launches New Rocket to Deploy 3 Satellites into Orbit

SSLV-D2, the Indian Space Research Organisation’s (ISRO) new rocket successfully placed three satellites into the intended orbit shortly after its launch from Sriharikota, Andhra Pradesh this morning.

The rockets were released from Satish Dhawan Space Centre with three mini, micro and nano satellites at 9:18 am and aligned into a 450 km circular orbit during its 15-minute flight.

The three satellites that were placed into the orbit are ISRO’s EOS-07, US-based firm Antaris’ Janus-1 and Chennai-based space start up SpaceKidz’s AzaadiSAT-2, an 8.7 kg satellite developed by 750 girl students from across India.

“Mission is accomplished successfully. SSLV-D2 placed EOS-07, Janus-1, and AzaadiSAT-2 into their intended orbits,” the space agency tweeted from its official handle announcing about the successful launch.

EOS-07 is a 156.3 kg satellite designed, developed and realized by the ISRO. Its mission objective is to design and develop payload instruments compatible with microsatellite buses and new technologies that are required for future operational satellites. It would also design and develop a microsatellite accommodating new technology payloads in a quick turn-around time. New experiments include mm-Wave Humidity Sounder and Spectrum Monitoring Payload.

This was the second developmental flight of Small Satellite Launch Vehicle by the space agency. Earlier in August, the first test flight of SSLV had ended in partial failure as the rocket failed to inject its satellite payload in their intended orbits.

Related Articles

Back to top button