JCCJ Candidates File Nominations For Rajya Sabha

Story Highlights
  • Chhattisgarh has five Rajya Sabha seats.
  • Both Congress candidates at the official residence of CM Baghel were introduced at the Congress Legislature Party.
  • Candidates can withdraw their names till 3 pm on June 3rd.

Raipur: On the last date of filing of nomination papers for the Rajya Sabha biennial election journalist-turned-politician Rajeev Shukla and former MP from Bihar Ranjeet Ranjan filed their papers on behalf of the Congress. Janta Congress Chhattisgarh (Jogi) candidate and former cabinet Minister Dr Haridas Bhardwaj also filed his nomination papers.

The nomination papers were for the two vacant seats of Rajya Sabha in the state. Their scrutiny will be held today. Candidates can withdraw their names till 3 pm on June 3rd, an official communication said. The candidates, accompanied by Baghel, AICC state in-charge P.L. Punia, state President Mohan Markam, cabinet Ministers and MLAs, then reached the assembly and submitted the nomination papers.

JCC (J) candidate and former Congress cabinet Minister Dr. Haridas Bhardwaj (Saraipali) also submitted his nomination paper for the Rajya Sabha election. He was accompanied by JCC (J) MLAs Dharamjeet Singh, Pramod Sharma and Dr Renu Jogi. Of the 90 members in the Chhattisgarh assembly, 71 are from the Congress, 14 from the BJP, 3 from the Janata Congress Chhattisgarh (J) and two are from the Bahujan Samaj Party.

Related Articles

Back to top button