Kharge, Tharoor File Nominations for Congress President Polls

Story Highlights
  • Kharge, Tharoor File Nominations for Congress President Polls
  • Digvijaya Singh backs out from the race.
  • Congress Presidential post polls to be held on October 17th

New Delhi: With window closing today, Shashi Tharoor and Mallikarjun Kharge have filed their nominations today for the party president posts whose polling will be held on October 17th

Gandhis-backed Kharge receives support from nearly 30 Congress leaders for the party’s presidential polls including Deepender Hooda, Salman Khurshid, Ashok Gehlot, Digvijaya Singh, Manish Tewari, Prithviraj Chavan, and among others. Mr Kharge is likely to resign as Leader of Opposition in Rajya Sabha in line with the Congress’s “one person, one post” rule, said sources. 

Earlier today Digvijay Singh said he will not contest for the post of Congress President. Instead decided to be the proposer of Mallikarjun Kharge in the election of Congress President. 

Meanwhile, Tharoor interacting with the media after filing the nomination said- “I’ve a vision for Congress which I’ll be sending to all delegates, we’re going to seek their support… I’m here to be the voice of all party workers”. Tharoor claims to have submitted 6 forms representing extraordinary support from party workers across the country. 

Amongst other who filed nominations include former Jharkhand minister K N Tripathi files his nomination papers for Congress president’s election. 

Rajasthan Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot drew out of the race after apologizing to Sonia Gandhi yesterday for the Rajasthan revolt by MLAs loyal to him. 

This is the first Congress president election in more 20 years with non-Gandhis in the contest. The Gandhis have refused to contest making way for other senior leaders to head the party. 

Related Articles

Back to top button