Nitish Kumar Back as CM; Tejaswi Yadav to be the Deputy CM

Story Highlights
  • Nitish Kumar takes oath as the CM of Bihar for the 8th time.
  • RJD chief, Tejaswi Yadav takes charge of the Deputy CM post.
  • Nitish Kumar formed a new govt in coalition with RJD.

Patna: The high voltage political drama over the party governance in Bihar in a fresh episode today saw Nitish Kumar at the Raj Bahavan, Patna taking oath as the CM of the state for the 8th time with Tejaswi Yadav as the Deputy CM. The Grand Alliance of the RJD and JD(U) which was reconstituted on Tuesday now heads the Bihar govt officially.

The cabinet expansion will take place after August 15, reports said. The oath-taking ceremony was kept low-key as only the chief minister and the deputy chief minister took their oaths.

Prior to the oath taking ceremony, Nitish Kumar called up RJD supremo Lalu Prasad. Prasad generousy welcomed his decision and conveyed his regards.

Kumar on Tuesday pulled the plug and called off the alliance with BJP, resigning from his post of CM immediately. He then followed it up staking a claim to form new govt in coalition with RJD. Addressing media outside the governor’s house, Kumar said ” all his MPs and MLAs reached a consesus to leave NDA.”

On the contrary, agitated BJP stripped of power in Bihar, staged a massive protest condemning the ‘betrayl’ by Nitish Kumar. The Maha dharna staged in front of the party office at Bhirchand Patel Marg was attended by all BJP MLAs and MPS from Bihar who vowed to ‘expose’ the JD(U) leader of his intentions.

Related Articles

Back to top button