Nitish Kumar to Take Oath as Bihar CM for 8th time on Wednesday

Story Highlights
  • Nitish Kumar confabulates with Tejaswi Yadav.
  • Forms new govt with a majority of 122.
  • Will take oath as CM of Bihar, with Tejaswi Yadav to be sworn in as the Deputy CM.

Bihar: In fast-moving political developments, Bihar’s mercurial leader Nitish Kumar, soon after resigning as the chief minister of the NDA govt met the governor along with RJD Chief Tejaswi Yadav. In the new govt, Tejaswi Yadav would serve as Deputy Chief alongside Kumar who would take the oath as the CM for the 8th time in 22 years.

Back in action, the ‘Mahagathbandham’ will take oath at 2 p.m. on Wednesday. Nitish has already been elected leader of the Mahagathbandhan of seven parties. The effective strength of the state Assembly is 242 and the figure is 122.

Nitish Kumar after breaking ties with BJP-led JD(U) submitted his resignation after the first meeting with the governor. “I have resigned, I have informed all my MLAs,” said Nitish Kumar after his first session with the Governor. He said the decision to split from the BJP – for the second time in nine years – was based on the feedback he received this morning at an interaction with his party’s legislators.

A meeting of the RJD-led grand alliance, comprising the Left and the Congress, also took place at Rabri Devi’s residence, across the street from Nitish Kumar’s residence where all the MLAs were said to have signed a letter of support to him.

Related Articles

Back to top button