Parliament Winter Session to Commence From Dec 7th

NEW DELHI: The Winter session of the Parliament this year will commence on December 7th and continue until December 29th. The announcement came through a post on Twitter that read-

“Winter Session, 2022 of Parliament will commence from December 7 and continue till December 29 having 17 sittings spread over 23 days. Amid Amrit Kaal looking forward to discussions on Legislative Business and other items during the session. Looking forward for constructive debate.”

With a total number of 17 working days, the first day is predecided to be adjourned as a tribute to those sitting members who died. Amongst sitting MPs who recently passed away is Samajwadi Party Patriarch Mulayam Singh Yadav.

It is worth noting that the winter session will mark the first session of Vice President Jagdeep Dhankar’s debut as the chairman of the Rajya Sabha,¬† as he will officiate proceedings in the Upper House.¬†Opposition MP Rahul Gandhi is likely to miss the winter session as he will be busy with Bharat Jodo Yatra said, Jaraim Ramesh.

The Monsoon session commenced on July 18th and adjourned on August 8. The session spread across a period of 22 days saw the introduction of six bills in the Lok Sabha and five in the Rajya Sabha. The total number of Bills passed by both Houses of Parliament during the session was 5.

Related Articles

Back to top button