Patel Sarkar 2.0 in Gujarat; 17 Cabinet Ministers Sworn in

Story Highlights
  • 17 members of the cabinet took oath along the CM.
  • CM Bhupendra Patel takes oath as the 18th CM of Gujarat.
  • BJP won Gujarat Assembly elections, bagging 156 seats out of 182

GANDHINAGAR: Bhupendra Patel took oath as the 18th CM of Gujarat straight for the second term. The oath was administered by Governor Acharya Devvrat at Gandhinagar in Gujarat. BJP leader Bhupendra Patel was sworn in as the Chief Minister for the first time on September 13 last year. Eight cabinet ministers and nine Ministers of State reportedly took oath at the swearing-in ceremony today. Bhupendra Patel’s winning margin of 1.92 lakh in Ghatlodia Assembly seat in Ahmedabad district was the highest in the state.

Bhupendra Patel on Saturday expressed his gratitude to the BJP cadre for opting to make him the CM of Gujarat for a second term. “I express my gratitude to the entire BJP family for electing me as the leader of the assembly party in the presence of central observers in the meeting of elected MLAs of Bharatiya Janata Party.” he tweeted.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Home Minister Amit Shah. Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath and chief ministers of other BJP-ruled states were among BJP stalwarts who attended the ceremony.

The BJP registered a record-smashing victory in the Gujarat Assembly elections, bagging 156 seats of the state’s 182 assembly seats — a record in its own right. The previous record was for 149 seats in 1985 when the Indian National Congress under Madhav Singh Solanki won the Assembly. 

Related Articles

Back to top button