Rahul Ruled Out for New Zealand Tests; Surya Kumar Added

Story Highlights
  • Rahul put to rest for the upcoming Test Series.
  • Surya Kumar to replace in the opener.
  • Ajinkya Rahane to led the team for the test series at Kanpur.

After sustaining a muscle strain, Senior Indian Opener KL Rahul has been put to rest. Batsman Suryakumar Yadav would replace Rahul in the upcoming 2-match Test Series against the Kiwis to be held at Kanpur.

“He will now undergo rehabilitation at NCA in preparation for the series against South Africa scheduled next month. The All-India Senior Selection Committee has named Mr. Suryakumar Yadav as KL Rahul’s replacement. The first Test between India and New Zealand begins on 25th November 2021 in Kanpur,” the BCCI informed.

With the T20I captain Rohit Sharma to rest, the Indian team would take over the fields with Subham Gill and Mayank Agarwal as openers under the captaincy of Ajinkya Rahane. Along with Rohit, seasoned test Captain Virat, Jusmit Bhumarah, Rishab pant and Mohd Shami have also been put to rest.

With new players in the squad, Suryakumar or Iyer are expected to make their debut and bat in the middle order. Subham who was earlier scheduled to play in the middle order would now be seen in the opening slot in the absence of Rahul.

The upcoming test series is a part of the World Test Championship (2021-23). Earlier, this month the Kiwis claimed the World Cup title by eight wickets after a long struggle.

Related Articles

Back to top button