Roger Binny is elected NEW PRESIDENT, Sourav Ganguly OUT

Sourav Ganguly passed the baton to Roger Binny at the BCCI AGM meeting in Mumbai today. Binny the former cricket team star and member of the 1983 world cup is the 36th president of the Board of Control for Cricket in India. As per reports, he was elected unopposed. Meanwhile, Jay Shah continues to be the Secretary.

Amongst other BCCI office bearers, who are elected unanimously include secretary Jay Shah, Ashish Shelar (treasurer), Rajeev Shukla (vice-president) and Devajit Saikia (joint secretary). Outgoing treasurer Arun Dhumal will be the new IPL chairman. For the Intl Cricket Council, the member will deliberate if BCCI should field a candidate for the ICC chair or support incumbent Greg Barclay for a second term. The last date for filing the nominations for the ICC top job is October 20. The ICC Board will meet from November 11-13 in Melbourne.

Binny in his recent stint was the President of the Karnataka State Cricket Association. Having played 27 Tests and 72 ODIs for India, Binny takes charge ahead of the ODI World Cup in India next year. He also served as a member of the senior selection committee in the past when Sandeep Patil was the chairman.

Related Articles

Back to top button