Seven Assembly Seats Across Six State to Undergo By-polls on  November 3rd

New Delhi: As per the latest announcement by ECI, by-polls to seven assembly constituencies in six states will be held on 3 November. The counting of the polls will be done on November 6th, the ECI notice said. 

As per the notice, the bypoll will be held in two constituencies of Bihar, and one each in Maharashtra, Haryana, Telangana, Uttar Pradesh and Odisha. 

The Munugode seat in Telangana will go to polls while in Odisha candidates will fray for Gola Gokrannath and Dhamnagar (SC) constituency.

In Bihar, the bypoll was necessitated in Bihar’s Mokama after the seat fell vacant post disqualification of Anant Kumar Singh of the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD), the then MLA from Mokama, in July after his conviction in a case. By-election in Bihar’s Gopalganj will take place after BJP’s Subhash Singh, who held the Gopalganj seat, passed away in August.

Maharashtra’s Andheri East, Uttar Pradesh’s Gola Gokrannath and Odisha’s Dhamnagar constituencies too fell vacant following the demise of their respective legislators.

In Haryana, the resignation of Kuldeep Bishnoi, and K Rajagopal Reddy in Telangana, led to the seats on the Adampur and Munugode segments vacant respectively.

The last date for nominations is 14 October. Candidates can withdraw their nomination on or before 17 October. The by-elections have to be completed before 7 November.

Related Articles

Back to top button