Shehbaz Sharif Elected unopposed as new Pakistan PM

Story Highlights
  • Pakistan new PM to take oath at 8:30 pm IST.
  • Shehbaz Sharif elected as unopposed PM.
  • Imran Khan was ousted through a no confidence motion.

Islamabad: PML-N leader Shehbaz Shariff was elected as the new Prime Minister of Pakistan through a voting in the country’s National Assembly succeeding Imran Khan who was ousted from the top post.

Shehbaz Sharif is the younger brother of the former Pakistani Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif and will serve as the 23rd PM of th country. The oath taking ceremony of the leader will be held at 8:30 pm IST on April 11th.

During the national assembly session for electing the new Prime Minister, Sharif got a total of 174 votes, two more than 172 needed to be elected.Imran Khan was ousted as the prime minister of Pakistan from office through a no-confidence motion after the National Assembly debated on the matter for more than 12 hours and the political situation in the country took a critical turn Saturday night.

A large number of Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf supporters held a protest rally in Lahore’s Liberty Chowk against the ouster of former prime minister and party chairman Imran Khan.The charged PTI supporters, including women and children, showed their solidarity with Khan during the rally that started at 9 pm on Sunday and lasted till 3 am on Monday.

Related Articles

Back to top button