SIT Urges Eye Witnesses to Record Statements; Releases Contact Details

Story Highlights
  • Released contact numbers urging witnesses to record statements and provide digital evidence.
  • SIT calls eye witnesses to record statements over the Lakhimpur Kheri incident.
  • Assures security and disclosure of statements on grounds of anonymity.

Uttar Pradesh: The SIT consititued to probe the Lakhimpur Kheri violence incident released contact numbers of its members urging eye witnesses to come forward & contact them to record their statements& provide digital evidence. It further assured police protection and confidentiality to the eye witnesses who turn up to record statements.Earlier on Tuesday, the SIT arrested two persons in the second case related to the alleged lynching of two local BJP workers and the driver of a Mahindra Thar vehicle, owned by Union minister Ajay Mishra. The accused have been identified as Gurvinder Singh (26) and Vichitra Singh (25), both farmers and residents of Lakhimpur Kheri. The duo were presented in local court on on 26th October followin which they were taken into judicial custody.

According to sources, the two accused have been identified from the list of six suspects released by the SIT for public identification.The Uttar Pradesh government on Tuesday informed the Supreme Court, ” All 16 accused have been identified.” Senior advocate Harish Salve, appearing for the Uttar Pradesh government, submitted a list before a bench headed by Chief Justice of India NV Ramana that is hearing the case. Taking cognizance of the situation the apex court had registered a PIL on Suo Motu.Ashish Mishra, son of Union minister of state for home affairs Ajay Mishra ‘Teni’, is named as the prime accused of the murder of the eight people on October 3rd.

The politicians son has been in police custody since October 9th, a day after the apex court came down heavily on the state government for leniency towards Mishra.The FIR named Ashish Mishra and “15-20” unknown people, out of 12 have been arrested and identified as Ashish Mishra, Luvkush Rana, Ashish Pandey, Ankit Das. Latif alias Kaale,Shekhar Bharti, Sumit Jaiswal,Shishu Pal, Mohit Trivedi, Rinku Rana, Dharmendra and Nandan Singh Bisht,Satya Prakash Tripathi.

Related Articles

Back to top button