South Africa Announce 21-Member Squad For Test Series vs India

Story Highlights
  • SA reveals player on Squad for Test series against India.
  • Test series to be held in3 matches at different venues across South Africa.
  • The series is a part of ICC World Test Championship.

South Africa on Tuesday listed out its 21-member squad for the upcoming three-match Test Series against India at home commencing from December 26th. The series flagged as part of the new cycle of ICC World Test Championship will be played at three different venues across the country. Striking off at Super Sport Park in Centurion, The Wanderers Stadium in Johannesburg will be host to the second 2nd Test and Newlands in Cape Town would be the last stop for the 3 match test.

 With Anrich Nortje was included in the squad, pacer Sisanda Magala and wicketkeeper-batsman Ryan Rickelton are the new talents in the team. The announcement of the new faces came through a social media statement that read- “The National Selection Panel has gone with the same core group that successfully toured the West Indies in June of this year and have included three others.”

Seasoned players Kagiso Rabada and Quinton de Kock are also part of the squad while Duanne Olivier, who played the last Test in Gqeberha against Sri Lanka in February of 2019, also finds a place. CSA Convenor of Selectors, Victor Mpitsang expressed pleasure over the names on the list and cited eagerness on the return of Dean Elgar and his men.

The test Squad for South African team features Elgar as the captain and Temba Bavuma as the vice-captain. Quinton de Kock would serve as a wicketkeeper while the rest of positions were taken by Kagiso Rabada, Sarel Erwee, Beuran Hendricks, George Linde, Keshav Maharaj, Lungi Ngidi, Aiden Markram, Wiaan Mulder, Anrich Nortje, Keegan Petersen, Rassie van der Dussen, Kyle Verreynne, Marco Jansen, Glenton Stuurman, Prenelan Subrayen, Sisanda Magala, Ryan Rickelton, Duanne Olivier.

Related Articles

Back to top button