T20I SL v/s India: SL Level Series With Hosts; Decider on Jan 7

All-rounder Sri Lanka beat India by 16 runs in the second T20I in Pune as the visitors levelled the 3-game series 1-1. The deciding match will be played in Rajkot on January 7. This is the first win SL achieved since 2016.

Skipper Dasun Shanaka grabs two wickets in the final over, including that of Axar Patel to help his team beat India. A heroic effort from Axar (65 off 31) went in vain as India end up at 190 for 8 in chase of 207. He was the aggressor in the partnership as SKY played the anchor role to support the southpaw.

The Indian bowlers had a rough night at the office, especially Arshdeep Singh who bowled five no-balls which cost India big time in the chase. Umran Malik was the pick of the bowlers for claiming three wickets but he was also expensive by leaking 48 runs in his four overs. Young Shivam Mavi who had a dream debut on Tuesday had a forgettable night where he leaked 53 runs. Dasun Shanaka once again turned out to be the biggest nemesis of Indian team and scored unbeaten 56 runs, while opener Kusal Mendis also scored 52.

India lost the top-order early with just 21 runs on the scoreboard. Ishan Kishan, Shubman Gill and Rahul Tripathi played some loose shots which hurt India. Hardik Pandya also dismissed cheaply for 12. Deepak Hooda failed to replicate his form from the opening match and departed for 9.

Related Articles

Back to top button