Three Naxals Surrender Under the Lon Varratu Campaign in Sukma

Story Highlights
  • Three Naxals surrendered in Chhattisgarh, one was the member with LOS
  • Chhattisgarh Police claimed that all the three surrendered were involved in planning a forthcoming incident
  • So far 378 Naxals have outlawed movement under the ‘Lon Varratu’

Raipur: Three Naxals surrender in Chhattisgarh Sukma district police headquarters on Friday, an official said. It is reported that they were involved in attacks on police teams, planting improvised explosive devices (IEDs), damaging the roads and putting up Maoist posters and banners.

Out of the three surrendered, Kartami Dev from the Mankapal area was a member of LOS. Earlier this year, Chhattisgarh Government announced a prize of Rs 1lakh to sources that reported the whereabouts of Kartami. The other two surrendered Naxalites have been identified as Madvi, Bhima were bhoomakal militia members and Muchaki Ganga DKMS members.

All the three Naxalites surrendered in the presence of DIG CRPF Yogyan Singh, Sukma SP Sunil Sharma, Commandant Tashi Gyalik, and ASP Om Chandel. Impressed by police’s rehabilitation drive ‘Lon Varratu’ the Maoists surrendered before the police, informing the Naxals. Under this scheme, each of the surrendered Naxalites shall receive Rs10,000 for rehabilitation. 

The Pilot campaign was initiated by Dantewada Police Station a year ago. The police released a list of 1600 Naxalites to the respective gram panchayats. So far 378 Naxals, 100 of them carrying the cash rewards on their heads have surrendered under the ‘Lon Varratu’ or return to your home-village campaign.

Read More from India, Click here 

Download Lalluram App to read all the Latest news

Related Articles

Back to top button