Uproar in Parliament over Kharge’s Comment on PM Modi

Story Highlights
  • Mallikarjun Kharge calls BJP govt "mouse"
  • BJP demanded an apology from Kharge at Rajya Sabha
  • Piyush Goyal said that he has no right to be in the House

New Delhi: Today is the 10th working day of the winter session of Parliament. There was a lot of uproar in the Rajya Sabha today over Kharge’s objectionable statement on Prime Minister Narendra Modi. While the BJP demanded an apology, Kharge clarified that he had given this statement outside Parliament. Attacking Kharge, BJP leader Piyush Goyal said that he has no right to be in the House. He said that it was because of the Congress that Jammu and Kashmir have become like this. 

The comment on which the uproar occurred was made by Kharge in Alwar, Rajasthan yesterday. Congress President Mallikarjun Kharge said, “We got freedom for the country, and Indira and Rajiv Gandhi sacrificed their lives for the unity of the country. Our party leaders gave their lives, what did you do? Has anyone made any sacrifice in your house?” He further said, “We want to discuss China’s aggression but the government is not ready for discussion. He talks like a lion on the outside but in reality, he walks like a mouse. We are with the country but the government is hiding information.”

Due to the huge uproar in the Lok Sabha on the issue of China, the proceedings of the Lok Sabha have also been adjourned. At the same time, the ruckus of the opposition in the Rajya Sabha is still going on. BJP MP Sumer Singh Solanki gave Zero Hour notice in Rajya Sabha over the demand for setting up medical colleges in tribal aspirational districts. Another BJP MP Brijlal has also given Zero Hour notice in Rajya Sabha to discuss the concern of rocket-propelled grenade attacks in Punjab.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) parliamentary party meeting is underway. Many senior leaders including Prime Minister Narendra Modi are present at the meeting. Prominent party leaders who attended the meeting include National President JP Nadda, Defense Minister Rajnath Singh, External Affairs Minister S Jaishankar, Parliamentary Affairs Minister Pralhad Joshi, Union Ministers Arjun Ram Meghwal and V Muraleedharan.

Related Articles

Back to top button