Uttarakhand: BJP meets to Clinch the Successor of TS Rawat; Appoints Tirath Singh Rawat as the New CM

Dehradun: After the abrupt exit of the Uttarakhand CM TS Rawat, legislative party of the state held a meeting at state headquarters to decide on the successor.

The meeting began on 10 March in the morning at the Balbir Road office, which was led by Central observer Raman Singh and state party in-charge Dushyant Gautam to oversee the appointment of the new CM.

Several names like Haridwar MP Ramesh Pokhriyal ”Nishank”, Nainital MP Ajay Bhatt, state Tourism Minister Satpal Maharaj, Rajya Sabha MP Anil Baluni and state minister of Higher education Dhan Singh Rawat were put forward for the post. Out of all, Tirath Singh Rawat has been appointed as the new CM.

He was party chief of Bhartiya Janata Party Uttarakhand from 9 February 2013 to 31 December 2015 and former member of the Uttarakhand Legislative Assembly from Chaubttakhal constituency from 2012 to 2017.

He was the first education minister of newly formed state Uttarakhand. In 2012, Mr. Rawat was elected as legislative assembly member (MLA) and in 2013 he became Uttarakhand BJP Chief.

As Uttarakhand BJP President he won four mayoral posts in municipal corporations out of six capturingall five seats in Uttarakhand.

Later, he was elected as M.P. from Pauri Lokasabha Seat on 23 May 2019after defeating his nearest rival Mr. Manish Khanduri by more than 03.50 lakh votes. He is now the CM of Uttarakhand. Currently, the total number of MLAs in Uttarakhand assembly is 70. Amongst them BJP has 56 MLAs, while the Congress has 11 and 2 independent MLAs.

Related Articles

Back to top button