West Bengal Election: Fourth Phase of Electoral Polls Commence Amidst High Temperatures in TMC

Story Highlights
  • Fourth phase of election begins
  • Spreads across Alipurduar and Cooch Behar in North Bengal and Howrah, Hooghly, South 24 Parganas and parts of Kolkata in south Bengal
  • 16.65% voter turnout till 11 am

Kolkata: The fourth phase of polling commenced today in West Bengal adhering to all COVID-19 protocols. Approximately 16.65% turnout was recorded till 11 am of voting in fourth phase of West Bengal Assembly elections.

More than 370 candidates, including movie stars, MPs and even a cricketer, are on the ticket in 44 constituencies spread over Cooch Behar and Alipurduar districts in north Bengal and parts of South 24 Parganas, Howrah and Hoogly in the state’s south. 

The home turf of chief minister Mamata Banerjee from where she won in 2016, Bhabanipur, is also going to the elections today. Union home minister Amit Shah campaigned door-to-door on Friday in the constituency ahead of the fourth phase. Singer tuned politician Babul Supriyo will be contesting against TMC MLA Aroop Biswas. 

The 2016 polls bought 39 out of 44 constituencies to the TMC while it emerged victorious in only 25 of them in 2019. After being issued two notices by the EC against violating mode of conduct, high temperatures are witnessed amongst the competitors. 

The phase will begin a week later on April 17 for the fifth phase. And the results will be declared on May 2.

Related Articles

Back to top button