West Bengal Election: Will TMC Retain Mamata’s Bastion Bhabanipur? Bengal Begins its Seventh Polling Session

Kolkata: All eyes are on the Bhabanipur Constituency, of which the TMZ supremo Mamata Banerjee is the sitting MLA and a resident. The seventh phase of assembly elections began at 7 am today morning as per schedule. Over 86 lakh voters will decide the fate of 284 candidates contesting from 34 assembly seats. Nearly 18% voter turnout was recorded till 9 am.

Among the prominent candidates in the fray, today are Sayoni Ghosh and Agnimitra Paul contesting from Asansol South assembly seats. Minister of State Moloy Ghatak and senior TMC leader who is contesting from Asansol North Assembly seat and Jitendra Tiwari from Pandabeshwar assembly.

Sources reveal TMC’s Sobhandeb votes for himself for the first time.  cast his vote for the seventh phase of Bengal election at the polling booth at MamathaNath Nandan Boys’ and Girls’ School, he said,” People will vote for Mamata Banerjee, her projects, her development has reached all homes. This election is being held on those issues. I have been in politics since 1962. This is the first time I am voting for myself.” 

It is informed that former West Bengal Chief Minister of the Left Front regime Buddhadeb Bhattacharya will not be able to cast his vote due to medical illness.

Voting is being conducted under heightened security cover to maintain peace as well as adherence to Covid-appropriate protocol. Around 12,068 polling stations are set up over nine assembly constituencies each in Murshidabad and Paschim Bardhaman districts, six each in Dakshin Dinajpur and Malda, and four in Kolkata.

Related Articles

Back to top button