Where not to travel: CDC’s no-go List

Story Highlights
  • 7 nations added to Level 4 of COVID-19 travel risk assessment.
  • Travellers instructed to be vaccinated prior to travelling.
  • Bangladesh, Montserrat and South Africa included in Level-3 Cat.

The Centre for Disease Control on Monday added seven more countries to the very high-risk category on its COVID-19 travel risk assessment list. The list grew to 134 after WHO flagged Omicron as a variant of concern. Places like the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Oman, Libya, Japan, Israel, Cuba and Armenia were issued a “Level 4″ warning, which means it is recommended that Americans avoid travelling there, even if vaccinated.

“Do not travel internationally until you are vaccinated and up to date with your COVID-19 vaccines,” the agency said. “Getting vaccinated is still the best way to protect yourself from severe disease and slow the spread of COVID-19. Additionally, the agency recommended travellers to be updated with COVID Vaccination irrespective of the place of travel.

Issuing guidelines for those unvaccinated, it said that they should get tested with a viral test no more than three days before the trip and self-quarantine for a full five days after travel. All travellers are instructed to follow airline requirements as well as any requirements at the destination, including wearing a face mask, social distancing, proof of vaccination, testing or quarantine. 

 The CDC’s four levels start at low risk and escalate from moderate to high and very high. These are designed to help Americans navigate travel in the pandemic.  Anguilla, Brazil, Chile, Ecuador, French Guiana, Kosovo, Mexico, Moldova, Paraguay, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Singapore and the Philippines were also upgraded to Level 4 at the end of last month. Nations like Bangladesh, Montserrat and South Africa were added to the Level 3 cat of the list.

Related Articles

Back to top button